Dave Chappelle Will Receive Mark Twain Award

Congratulations are in order for Dave Chappelle. TheJohn F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Artshas announced that he’ll be receiving the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. 


Chappelle will be the 22nd recipient of the prestigious comedy award - and joins the likes of Eddie Murphy, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, and the honor’s first recipient, Richard Pryor. "Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain's observation that 'against the assault of humor, nothing can stand'," says Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter. "For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective."

The standup comic, actor, producer and director will be honored at a gala performance featuring some of the biggest names in comedy on Sunday, October 27th. If you’re not able to make the soiree, you’ll be able to watch it on PBS on January 6th, 2020.

Source:John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

V Mornings

V Mornings

Want to know more about V Mornings with Big Al? Get his official bio, social pages & articles on V101! Read more


Content Goes Here